'Invitation to the Dance'

Saturday 29th June 2019

Since a concert series was established in 1993, Tayside Symphony Orchestra has played in Angus, Dundee and Fife, it has collaborated with Aberdeen Operatic Society and Tayside Symphony Chorus, and has performed a variety of programmes ranging from classical works to film music, musical theatre and dance. This evening, to a full house, the programme was *Invitation to the Dance*, with music ranging from Strauss and his contemporaries to the present day. There were seven items in the programme, plus an encore.

There was lots for the TSO to get their teeth into and their performance throughout was excellent. There were many splendid orchestrations, some leaning heavily on brass and woodwind and others giving the strings their chance to shine. Weber's *'Invitation to the Dance'*, Chopin's ballet music, *'Les Sylphides'*, *'Emperor Waltz'* by Strauss, Grieg's *'Norwegian Dance Opus 35'* and Joplin's *'Ragtime'* were included. *The* medleys also tested the ability and versatility of the percussion section as they swapped roles with admirable ease and minimum of fuss. They came into their own in *'Conga del Fuego'* and *Clog Dance* from 'La Fille Mal Gardée.' Sincere thanks are due to Miss Beryl Cooper, Dance Principal of Esk School of Dance, Montrose for the young dancer, Luis Martin, involved in the interpretation of the Clog Dance. As an encore, the concert ended with a traditional Scots Reel, *'The Flowers of Edinburgh.'*

Tayside Symphony Orchestra has played a key role in encouraging talented local young players to perform publically to advance their musical careers and tonight, Mearns Academy F.P. Matthew Crabb, who plays trombone, received a Ron Walker Bursary to assist him with the commencement of his BMus (Performance) course at The Royal Birmingham Conservatoire in September. The award of the Bursary recognised Matthew's contribution as a player of outstanding ability not only in TSO, but also in the local and national music scene. It was presented by TSO Honorary President, Georgiana Osborne CVO, H.M. Lord Lieutenant for Angus.